There have been a handful of reports over the past few months of rooms set to expire in a year closing early. Unfortunately, once a room is closed, there is no way to retrieve the data; it’s gone forever. To avoid users unexpectedly losing data, I’ve temporarily disabled year-long rooms.
Unfortunately this is a very difficult issue to diagnose, owing to the long times involved. Users don’t always check rooms very frequently, so early-closing reports range from a few weeks after opening the room to a few months. So far, my efforts to find a root cause have been fruitless.
I do hope to address this issue very soon and re-enable year-long rooms, but I won’t do it before I’m confident that users will not lose data.